Euharlee 2000 Brochure Text
(plus a few 2012 online excerpts)
WELCOME TO EUHARLEE
First settled in the 1840's as Burge's Mill, the town incorporated in 1852 as Euharleeville. In 1870 a new charter was enacted changing the name to Euharlee. The name Euharlee is of Cherokee origin meaning "she laughs as she runs" describing the thriving creek that runs through the town.
Take a stroll through time and visit the past . . . . . . .
THE COVERED BRIDGE - The bridge was built in 1886 by Washington W. King using the Town Lattice design. The bridge spans 137 feet over Euharlee Creek. Close examination of the trusses reveals numbered marks used when the entire bridge was assembled on land, each board numbered, taken apart and reassembled in its present location. This bridge is said to be one of the finest in existence. The bridge was used continuously until 1978 when the concrete bridge opened. Georgia Power's Plant Bowen, one of the largest in the nation was built in 1976 with much of the building materials carried across the covered bridge.
COW SHED/HISTORICAL MUSEUM - A small shed, one of the original outbuildings to the Lowry farm. The Lowry home was destroyed by fire. Restored by the city, the building now serves as a historic museum.
GRIST MILL RUINS - Built in the early 1870's, this mill served as the town's livelihood, supplying the residents with the staples flour and ground com. The present state of ruin is caused by natural decay. Little else is known about the mill. However, a few of the flour and meal sacks still exist in private collections.
TRAVELER'S WELL - Thought to have been in existence before the Civil War, this community well was hand dug by the early settlers. Today, the well is not in use to protect its historic significance.
THE GRANARY - Believed to have been built shortly after 1860 when the commissary #1 was built, it was used for much the same purpose. An adventurous peek through the windows reveals a cluttered time capsule including the original counters and shelving.
THE COMMISSARY - Served the special needs of the large landowners and those who rented his land. The renters could "buy" much needed goods on account and settle their charge when the crops were harvested. In a dismal state of ruin, the building underwent restoration by the city in 1990.
MILITIA COURTHOUSE #851 - The term "Militia District" comes from the governing body that existed during the Revolutionary War of 1812. Presided over by a Justice of the Peace, the court house maintained local law and order. First recorded in 1837, Absolam Stephens served as Justice, followed by a list of names still found among our local residents. This was the first to undergo restoration in Euharlee through the tireless efforts of local residents headed by Miss Emmie Nelson. Our library was dedicated to Miss Nelson's honor for her ardent work to preserve the heritage of Euharlee.
THE CALABOOSE - Another term for jail, the calaboose was used to hold the occasional drunk or chicken thief. The iron bars were said to have been forged by the local blacksmith. This building was restored along with the courthouse in 1976.
EUHARLEE MASONIC LODGE #457 - The building originally owned by The Euharlee Odd Fellows, is thought to predate the Civil War. The Lodge #457, chartered in 1903, has continuously occupied the building and is still an active group today.
EUHARLEE BAPTIST CHURCH - The main body of the church is believed to date back to the early 1800's. The two entrance doors were a tradition for men and boys to enter on one side and ladies entered on the other. The cemetery has been completely filled. Take a peaceful stroll and experience a living connection with those who have long since gone.
EUHARLEE PRESBYTERIAN CHURCH - The building was erected by the Templeton family in 1854, and remains in well preserved condition. The church continues to serve the community today. Pause a while in the cemetery and explore those who live long ago.
BLACKSMITH SHOP - The shop stands as a time capsule of rural industrial technology of earlier days. The structure was built in 1900 by Joe Lowry and was in continuous operation until the 1950's.
EUHARLEE STORE, - This general store, built in the early 1800's, served as a central meeting place for the townsfolk. The "Whittler's Club," as they called themselves, formed from a familiar group that stood around the pot-bellied stove and whittled on the soft pine packing boxes and talked about daily events. The store has acted as town merchant, local saloon, post office, and doctor's office. With a few vacant years, the store has operated almost continuously for over one hundred years. Stop in and get a cool drink, sit a spell on the front porch, and enjoy your visit to Euharlee.
Euharlee Creek Covered Bridge
Bridge Description: This bridge was built in 1886 by Washington W. King. It is 137.6 feet long by 16.35 feet wide, and the truss is Town Lattice style. This bridge goes over Euharlee Creek. It has also been formerly known as Lowry Bridge. There is a parking area.
Except for some graffiti on one end of the bridge, this covered bridge has been well maintained by the local folks. In 1997 a museum opened in the old cow shed near the bridge. Open 12-5 Monday thru Friday, the museum (free, but they appreciate donations) houses memorabilia about the bridge as well as Euharlee. Though the museum is closed on weekends, if you call ahead (Euharlee City Hall (770) 386-1542) they will open at special hours for groups.
The bridge is located adjacent to the ruins of an old mill once owned and operated by Daniel Lowry who owned most of the land around the bridge and also allowed the builders to use rock from his land to build the piers of the bridge after high water swept a previous, lower bridge away. According to Thomas and Edward French in Covered Bridges of Georgia "He also helped to rebuild the wooden structure. Due to the fact the bridge was swept from its foundation and perhaps came to rest against the mill's south wall, it may have been salvaged. This could account for the numbering of the web members of the town lattice trusses."
According to the North Georgia Journal a previous bridge collapsed causing the death of a local man, Mr. Nelson, a mule and a horse. His two young sons emerged from the disaster unscathed. This led to the eventual construction of the present, much sturdier bridge by W.W. King (with perhaps some help from his father though Horace was ill at the time).
This bridge is the centerpiece of a local covered bridge festival during the Labor Day weekend.
Built in 1886 by Washington King, the allure of the bridge is enhanced by the picturesque 1850's village surrounding it. On the Georgia Covered Bridge Trail as well as the National Historical Register. It is one of the oldest remaining covered bridges in the state.
Euharlee is home to Georgia's oldest covered bridge.