Frustration with Walmart.com
(plus Advance Outdoor, Barley Grains LLC, and MaxLead)

In my early days on the Internet I was wary of making online purchases. So, I would only do so at Amazon. Their customer service [at the time], and ease of using their site were top notch. Then some years later, a DVD I gave my wife for Christmas was defective. Since it was one of her favorite series, I called Amazon to have the DVD replaced. But, they would only issue a refund because that DVD, after Christmas, was only available to their "prime" members [a new program they had just recently started]. I was pretty frustrated, because they obviously had it in stock, but would not even replace a defective product, because I was not a "prime" member. Yet, I had no choice but to take the refund, and look somewhere else to purchase the DVD replacement. 

Back in my days of 35mm photography, I was having hundreds of [film] pictures developed, and had a very good relationship with my local Walmart photo department. The particular DVD (above) was not readily available in stores, but because of my great experiences in the past with the store, I decided to take a chance with Walmart.com. The price was the same as Amazon, and the purchase went well. It gave me the confidence to do other online purchases through Walmart.com, as well as a few names I trusted like Kroger.com. Now we can fast forward to 2022, and the frustration which has given this page its title. 

_____________

Product details

ADVANCE OUTDOOR 10x20 ft carport canopy is a best choice for your cars and outdoor equipment as a garage. It is ideal for your patio, party, boats, truck, horse shade, flea market, parking space, nursery, plants, flowers, camping area, garden area, pet, storage, deck, pool, barbeque, dog kennel, lawn and garden equipment, commercial fair, picnics, social events, weddings, parties and storage shelters, outdoor events or construction area. Our carport is made of better material and high quality galvanized thicken steel poles. The carport party wedding tent could provide you a better shelter. We aim to make you enjoy life anytime and anywhere!

_____________

We needed a 10x20 tent for use in Joyce Park during the Grand Ledge Fall Festival which takes place in October. And, I wanted to protect my car over the winter. The tent (billed as a carport above) from Walmart.com caught my attention, primarily because of the reinforcing cross poles shown in the diagram on the webpage. 

_____________

_____________

I was very pleased with how well the structure went together. The tent arrived just in time for our displays during the Grand Ledge Fall Festival. One #2 pole had a slight dent (or crease) in it. One #4 short pole extension piece had holes at only one end. And, one grommet pulled through the fabric in the upper left corner of a side when being tightened down by a bungee. Since time was of the essence, we went ahead and used the #2 pole, found someone with a metal drill bit to create the second set of holes in the #4 leg piece, and using some tan duct tape repaired the corner where the grommet pulled through, so we would not be delayed in putting up the structure. On subsequent tent purchases, we noticed a number of grommets were too close to the edge of the fabric making them susceptible to being pulled from the fabric, and several grommets arrived in a completely crushed condition. But, since there was a one year warranty, and the infrastructure went together as well as it did, plus we own two cars, I went ahead and ordered a second tent. 

_____________

_____________

After Christmas, I phoned the customer service number provided in the instructions for warranty and service issues, and spoke with Blair. She explained that the warranty did not cover weather damage. I explained most of what we had to file as a warranty claim were not weather related. She followed up on December 30, 2022 at 4:53 p.m. with a text which read . . .

Dear customer, this is Blair from MaxLead. Thank you so much for taking the time speaking with me. Please email our team at maxlead.us@gmail.com with your order number and pictures for your replacement parts as well as your full shipping address. Our team will get back to you within the next 12 hours. Thank you so much. 

Because we do not have Internet service at our home, and I typically only go online once a week on Thursdays, using the public library wifi, or wifi at a church, to upload my picture of the week to my website, I suggested she use my wife's email address so she could see it on her smart phone. I also explained that I have a flip phone, and can receive a text, but cannot make a lengthy or complicated reply. She sent a second text December 30, 2022 at 4:55 p.m. which simply read . . .   

Please confirm email: dbg3462@gmail.com

I replied at 4:59 p.m. with a basic . . .

Yes.

I did not email the address she gave us for some time. We decided to wait to see how the tents held up through several months of use, especially since we were heading into winter. 

As the tents were purchased in late September, and early November in 2022, and Blair had told us we had a year to file a warranty claim, I figured we had plenty of time. Life got busy, but on August 10, 2023 at 3:10 p.m. I took the time to send the warranty claim email to the address Blair had provided. The complete text follows below with minor edits. 

Order placed through Walmart.com
Friends of Joyce Park
fojp2022@gmail.com

Order date: Fri, Sep 23, 2022
Order #: 2000101-80509622

Order date: Mon, Nov 7, 2022
Order #: 2000104-94301251

221230 P0453 advance tents email text

Dear customer, this is Blair from MaxLead. Thank you so much for taking the time speaking with me. Please email ourteam at maxlead.us@gmail.com with your order number and pictures for your replacement parts as well as your full shipping address. Our team will get back to you within the next 12 hours. Thank you so much.

221230 P0455 advance tents text

Please confirm email: dbg3462@gmail.com

221230 P0459 my reply

Yes.


Even though I spoke with Blair in December 2022, and she sent the above, since the Walmart.com website described the item as “ADVANCE OUTDOOR Upgraded 10'x20' Heavy Duty Steel Carport with . . . Adjustable Height from 9.5 to 11 ft, Car Canopy Garage Party Tent . . . Storage Shed Boat Shelter with Window Sidewalls and Doors, and Blair explained to me I had a full year warranty, I decided to wait to see how the tents held up as we moved them from one use to another, before I would send the warranty email. 


First, I would like to compliment you. The carport tents we purchased from you are well thought out, designed, and crafted. The cross bracing was, which I noticed in the picture on Walmart.com, one of the primary reasons we purchased the tents. They are indeed a wonderful feature. The snap lock way the poles connect are also great, and went together well. Also, the extra four grommets on the sides of the roof for stabilizing guide lines to pass through makes such anchoring much easier. Tents we have used (lent to us) in the past have none of these features. 

The tents were primarily purchased for programs at Joyce Park (www.fojp.org), a neighborhood lot which was recently donated to the Teaching & Sharing Centers (www.tscenters.org) 501c3 non-profit to be developed, maintained, and utilized as a park. The secondary reason was to shelter vehicles, especially in the winter. The fact that your product was advertised as a carport tent was also a major factor influencing the purchase. The tents have been moved and used between those two purposes since they were purchased. 

With regards to the warranty. The first tent arrived just in time to get set up for our Michigan Lining History Encounters displays during the Grand Ledge Fall Festival. One #2 pole had a slight dent (or crease) in it. One #4 short pole piece had holes at only one end. And, one grommet pulled through the fabric in the upper left corner of a side when being tightened down by a bungee. Since time was of the essence, we went ahead and used the #2 pole, found someone with a metal drill bit to create the second set of holes in the #4, and used duct tape on the corner the grommet pulled through on, so we would not be delayed in putting up the structure. 

As I looked at the various components of the tents, I thought the zippers might prove to be the weakest link with regular use. However, as it turned out, it was the windows that failed when we had an unusual combination of below freezing temperatures, and very high winds. One widow completely shredded (white tent), and almost all (both tents) had multiple tears in them as the cold made them brittle, and the wind put pressure on them. We repaired the slices (cracks) with clear duct tape. Other than that, on the whole, the tents did quite well even under harsh Michigan winter conditions. We did regularly push snow off from the canopy to avoid undue weight accumulating. 

I was told in my phone conversation that weather issues are not covered by the warranty, so I am already aware of that. But, there are some other issues which showed up. In setting up the second tent (white), we noticed several grommets that were smashed (see photos) and, like with the first tent (tan), quite a number of grommets were way too close to the edge of the fabric, making them possible candidates for grommets ripping out, which some did (see photos). One zipper did jam when a gap opened above it, and the pull tab broke off while trying to work it through the jam. Also, the stitching by one zipper pulled out. One of the tabs holding up the sides for a shorter height simply fell off, and was found lying on the ground. At least one, or two, additional grommets too close to the edge pulled through the fabric over time. When using the wing bolts and nuts to add height, we discovered the wing nuts need to be on the inside away from the fabric. Some of our volunteers placed the wings and bolt ends facing out, and they eventually wore two holes in the sides. There is another hole in one of the pictures that I am not sure what caused it. Also, you will see two brown lines which appear to be some stitching decaying, but I am not certain. One bolt in the package (white tent) was not cut deep enough to accommodate the hexagon wrench, and somehow one wing nut came off on its own, and we could not find it in the grass when we discovered it missing. Then the last thing that happened, when we moved the tent back to Joyce Park for a memorial service, the hook on one of the corner post covers caught on a fence, and the top stitching ripped away several inches along the seam (see photos). I am attaching 24 photographs showing the issues described above. 

All in all, we are very satisfied with the tents, and intend to purchase a third one (white). Do we go through Walmart.com? We also intend to replace the window sides with sides without windows. We would prefer any warranty replacements be sides without windows. Please provide us with the price of any remaining (no window) sides we might need to purchase. 

Our recommendations are, you might want to mention the wing nut/bolt issue in the instructions for those using the tent carport for more than a couple of weeks at a time. And, purchasers in northern climates, who intend to use the tents in the winter, might want to opt for no windows. 

We need to purchase an additional tent by mid-September, as well as any (no window) sides not covered by warranty, in order to get ready for the Grand Ledge Fall Festival the first week in October. 

As a small non-profit, we do not have Internet at our office, and I do not have Internet at home. I go to a local church to upload my picture of the week to my www.wsharing.com website. That is done on each Thursday, and is when I check my emails, and the organization email addresses. I am sending this on Thursday, August 10, but will not see any reply until Thursday, August 17. 

Thank you again for making such an excellent, easy to assemble, product.

Also, Blair was very pleasant, and helpful delivering your customer service.

God’s peace,

William Gibbons Jr
Friends of Joyce Park
Resident Agent & Trustee

P.S. The email address we provided Blair is getting very busy. It would be prudent if you would send a Cc of any email to the FOJP address shown on this email.

24 attachments

I have placed the 24 images in the same order as they are described in the text, except for the last two. With having had the knowledge that weather damage is not covered by the warranty, I am placing them here for those who might be reading this as a review of the product. The combination of temperatures below freezing, and high winds, damaged every window from simply having tears, to a complete blow out of the window. We used clear shipping tape to repair the tears, but had to use another tarp to hang inside on the above right damage in order to keep the snow out. 

_____________

From: Maxlead Customer Support
Date: Fri, Aug 11, 2023 at 4:44 AM
To: Donna and Bill Gibbons
Cc: fojp2022@gmail.com

Dear Donna,

Thanks a lot for getting back to us. We are sincerely sorry about the problem with the item. Many thanks for your helpful suggestions. We will contact our manufacturer to see whether they are able to make an improvement to this.

At this point, to help you better, we can provide you with the replacement parts.

Attached the part list for you, could you make a list for all of the parts and quantity you need?

Also, you mentioned that you need solid sidewalls for the item. As you ordered 2 different colors, could you let us know whether you need the solid sidewalls in beige or white?

After getting your reply, we can help you better.

Looking forward to hearing from you.

Kind Regards,

Lynn

_____________
 

From: Friends of Joyce Park (fojp2022@gmail.com)
Date: Thu, Aug 17, 2023 at 5:18 PM
To: maxlead@great-support.com

Dear Lynn,

We need the solid sidewalls for both the tan and white tents. There was some sort of damage on every sidewall.

In addition to the sides, the other items mentioned in our email are: one #2 pole; one #4 pole; one #Z door (tan-zipper issue); one #Z door (white-stitching issue); one #G bolt and nut; and one #R roof cover (tan-stitching pulled loose).

Thank you for your prompt reply. As mentioned in our email we are a small non-profit, and do not have Internet at our office, and I do not have Internet at home. I go to local church to upload my picture of the week to my www.wsharing.com website. That is done on each Thursday, and is when I check my emails, and the organization email addresses. I am sending this on Thursday, August 17, but will not see any reply until Thursday, August 24.

When we order our third tent (white), how will we designate that we want solid sidewalls, without windows?

God’s peace,

William Gibbons Jr
Friends of Joyce Park
Resident Agent & Treasurer
(and Donna's husband)

_____________
 

From: Maxlead Customer Support (maxlead@great-support.com)
Date: Thu, Aug 17, 2023 at 10:31 PM
To: Friends of Joyce Park (fojp2022@gmail.com)

Dear Donna,

Thanks for your reply, for your reference, we put a link below to the item with solid sidewalls, please have a check. (only beige is available now)

https://www.walmart.com/ip/ADVANCE-OUTDOOR-Upgraded-10-x20-Heavy-Duty-Steel-Carport-Adjustable-Height-9-5-11-ft-Car-Canopy-Garage-Party-Tent-Storage-Shed-BoatShelter-Portable-/925159637?athbdg=L1600&from=/search

As for the parts you requested, we can apply for free parts for you this time, but you may need to cover a $60 shipping cost and handing fee, would you accept it?

If you are OK with this, please kindly place an order on the link below

https://www.walmart.com/ip/Barley-Grains-LLC-Parts-fee/661660967

Please note that the quantity should be 6, and as this listing is for special parts only, we actually need to create a new order for you manually, so, could you please inform us of your order# after you place it?

Once we get your reply, we will process the next step accordingly.

Hope to hear from you.

Lynn

_____________
 

Comment:

At this point I was starting to get a little bit suspicious. I had never heard of a company requiring the customer to pay for shipping and handling when something was being covered under warranty. 

I also realized, however, that we had likely confused things by mentioning the weather window damage we already knew was not going to be covered by the warranty. 

I did use the link Lynn graciously provided for the purchase of the new tent. And, I checked out the link for "ordering" parts. It seemed a bit complicated, considering I did not know all the details of what exactly was being ordered, and why I was being required to pay anything on a warranty claim. 

So, we decided not to pay the $60 to them. 

_____________
 

_____________


From: Friends of Joyce Park (fojp2022@gmail.com)
Date: Thu, Aug 31, 2023 at 10:57 AM
To: maxlead@great-support.com

Dear Lynn,

Last Thursday I only had time to upload my picture of the week to my www.wsharing.com website. Later that evening a really bad storm hit Mid-Michigan (80 mph winds, rain, thunder, and lightning). The tan (beige) tent was already set up in Joyce Park in anticipation of our participation in the upcoming Grand Ledge Fall Festival. It was totally destroyed. So we no longer need anything for that tent. We decided to put the $60 toward a new tent. I have already ordered two new tents for the non-profit to use. 

However, we still need both solid sidewalls for the white tent, plus anything else shown in the pictures I sent. Please let me know how we can get those before the end of September. Remember, I only see emails once a week on Thursday. 

God's peace,

william
(Donna's husband)

_____________
 

From: Maxlead Customer Support (maxlead@great-support.com)
Date: Fri, Sep 1, 2023 at 1:53 AM
To: Friends of Joyce Park (fojp2022@gmail.com)

Dear william,

Thanks a lot for getting back to us. Sincerely sorry that the item is totally damaged.

Could you let us know whether you only have 2 solid sidewalls in white? If so, we can only charge you $60 for these 2 sidewalls.

Please kindly send us $60 to our PayPal account BARLEY GRAINS LLC (outdooredge@gmail.com).

When you make the purchase, please kindly leave a note about your email address and name. So that the supporting team can find it out and send the correct part to you ASAP.

Thanks a lot for your understanding.

BTW, please don't forget the shipping address.

Kind regards,

Lynn

_____________
 

From: Friends of Joyce Park (fojp2022@gmail.com)
Date: Thu, Sep 7, 2023 at 1:40 PM
To: maxlead@great-support.com, outdooredge

We were told to send $60 to a paypal account (see emails) for two white solid sides to a tent we ordered just under a year ago. The sides replace damaged sides with windows. Plus there was other damage. Emails have been exchanged for weeks accomplishing nothing. This most recent email said it had a paypal link, but the link sent was only to this email address. We need the sides before the end of September. It would be a lot easier if you could call Donna Gibbons at 517 230-0611 to take care of this. WE ONLY SEE EMAILS ONCE A WEEK.

God's peace,

william
Friends of Joyce Park Treasurer

_____________

We received no phone calls, but did receive one more email from Maxlead Customer Support (shown below). At this point, we were neck deep in things demanding our time. The same storm that put the tent into the trees around Joyce Park brought a 40' tree down onto our garage. The 24 inch diameter tree extended fifteen feet in front of the garage, and an equal distance behind our garage into Joyce Park where our four day participation in the festival would be held the first week in October. We were dealing with the insurance company, multiple contractor estimates, adjusters, removing the tree from our garage roof, cutting off the limbs, and hauling them away, especially those in Joyce Park where our encampments and display tents were needing to soon be set up. I asked my wife if she was willing to use her smart phone to attempt to find a phone number for Walmart.com complaints involving vendors, so we could turn to them for help. After all, the reason I had made the tent purchase in the first place was because I trusted Walmart.com. My wife has limited knowledge of how to do things on her phone, and was not encouraged to do so, especially seeing the frustration I was having in dealing with the tents issues. My flip phone capabilities are limited, so it basically comes down to telephone conversations, or emails I only see once a week. I am actually glad Maxlead stayed with emailing. As stated elsewhere on this site, when dealing with big corporations it is best to get things in written form so you have printable records. 

_____________

From: Maxlead Customer Support (maxlead@great-support.com)
Date: Fri, Sep 8, 2023 at 2:52 AM
To: Friends of Joyce Park (fojp2022@gmail.com)

Dear william,

Thanks a lot for getting back to us.

It is the email address which is associated with our PayPal account.

If PayPal does not work, would you check the link below?

https://www.walmart.com/ip/Barley-Grains-LLC-Parts-fee/661660967

Please change the quantity to 6 to send us $60.

After getting the payment, we will send the parts to you.

Looking forward to hearing from you.

Kind Regards,

Lynn

_____________
 

Another copy of the parts list was attached to Lynn's last email. However, the parts list shows no prices. The email, like before, directed us to change the quantity to six, and send $60, without any indication what parts were included, which ones we were paying for, if anything was being covered under the warranty, and what the individual prices were. And, quite frankly, at this point I did not trust Maxlead, Barley Grains LLC, or Advance Outdoor enough to pay them anything until I could speak with someone from Walmart.com. 

_____________

The two new tents we set up had some problems as well. Straight from their boxes the tents had crushed grommets (part #R) . . . .

A door with a zipper which would not close all the way because the seam was sewn too close to the zipper (part #Z) . . . .

Two steel foot pads (part #C) into which the poles could not be fully inserted to line up the screw holes because there were excess drops of solder in the inside bottom . . . . 

And one sidewall (part #S but solid with no windows) that you could practically see through because the fabric was so flawed, but somehow passed any quality control inspection . . . .

_____________

I visited Walmart.com several times on the days I uploaded my picture of the week to my website (www.wsharing.com), but never got anywhere. At one point, I asked customer service at our local Walmart store if they had a phone number for Walmart.com customer service. They did not. Their website provided no obvious phone number, wanting you to constantly select from a list of choices, none of which applied to what I wanted to speak with them about. I think I was in an automated chat on the website when I finally was told by the "chat" it could not understand what I was asking about, and told me I needed to call 1-800-966-6546. By the time I was able to get this simple basic information I had desired from the start, Walmart.com had wasted way too much of my time. So, it was not until 12/20/23 that I called the provided number. I spoke with Tibian. She needed to check on most of what I was asking about, but seemed to sincerely want to help. After checking again, she came back and said Walmart.com could (or would) do nothing because the purchase was over a year old. I reminded her I had started the warranty claim process well before the year was up on both tent purchases. And that I also had a warranty claim on the two tents purchased less than four months ago. She suggested I call 877-538-4389, their "product care team." I spent 10 minutes following the automated prompts at that number, before it became clear I was never going to get to a real person, because my issue did not fit into any of their preset categories.  

I cannot remember if Tibian said she was going to email the seller in addition to providing the PCT phone number (above), but I presume she did because on December 28th I saw the below email. I never said "item is damaged I want a replacement," as if I were asking for the whole tent to be replaced. Those words were the decision of whoever sent Barley Grains LLC the email. I also saw an email from Barley Grains LLC (after the Walmart email below) which was sent within Walmart's required 48 hours. That same day I also replied to the Barley Grains LLC email. It was interesting that I was still dealing with Lynn, even though the company name had changed on the emails. 

_____________


_____________
 

From: Barley Grains LLC (E183B23B9E0344A88A5995C45E0448D2@relay.walmart.com)
Date: Thu, Dec 21, 2023 at 1:18 AM
To: William Gibbons Jr (fojp2022@gmail.com)

Dear William,

Thanks for your contacting, this is Lynn from ADVANCE OUTDOOR Customer Service Team, it is our pleasure to serve you.

We are so sorry to hear that the item is damaged, please no worries, we will spare no efforts to help you.

To assist you further, kindly let us know the reason for the damage and also send us some pictures of the broken parts, this will help us make clear the issue and find out the solution sooner.

Also, we are wondering whether you can accept our solution of sending you the replacement parts needed if the issue can be fixed by replacement parts?

If you are willing to give us a chance to fix the issue by sending you the parts, kindly confirm the part# and quantity of the problem part from the attached parts list.

Also, if you have any suggestions regarding this issue, please feel free to let us know.

We sincerely sorry for any inconvenience caused and looking forward to your reply.

Best regards,

Lynn

_____________

From: Friends of Joyce Park (fojp2022@gmail.com)
Date: Thu, Dec 28, 2023 at 7:33 PM
To: Barley Grains LLC (E183B23B9E0344A88A5995C45E0448D2@relay.walmart.com)
Cc: c-e183b23b9e0344a88a5995c45e0448d2@relay.walmart.com

Dear Lynn,

You did not honor your warranty on the previous two tents we bought. Why would I waste my time responding here? I am preparing a webpage for my www.wsharing.com website showing the entire history including damaged items on our most recent purchase through walmart.com. I will send you, and Walmart, the URL link when I have completed and uploaded it to my site. I am typically only online once a week. So it is a very slow way to communicate with me.

Respectfully,

William Gibbons Jr
Treasurer
Friends of Joyce Park

_____________

A week, or two, later I saw another email from Barley Grains LLC (shown below). Since it was going to be easier to relay the information, and photos, through this website page, I did not respond. We have never expected, and have never requested, weather related damage to be covered under the warranty. The problem is some items had both weather related damage, and other damage which should have been covered. Things like product delivered with crushed grommets, grommets pulling away from the fabric because they were too close to the edge, broken zippers, tie ups simply falling off, bolts punching through the sides over time if the nut side faces the fabric, and stitching ripping loose when it snagged on something while being moved. These items would have needed to have been addressed even if there had not been a single bit of weather damage. The main reason for including the weather damage description and photos is this webpage will become my walmart.com review of the products. People who live in the colder climates need to know the windows will not survive a combination of sustained temperatures below freezing, and unusually strong winds. Had someone warned us, we would have purchased the tents without windows. But, we would still need to deal with the other items. We should not have to keep fixing brand new tents on our own. 

_____________
 

From: Barley Grains LLC (s-E183B23B9E0344A88A5995C45E0448D2@relay.walmart.com)
Date: Fri, Dec 29, 2023 at 3:49 AM
To: William Gibbons Jr (fojp2022@gmail.com)

Dear William,

Thanks for your reply and information.

We are really sorry for all the inconvenience caused to you. Usually, we provide a 1-year warranty for our carports, and if the products get damaged during normal use, we can provide the replacement parts to repair the item. But for weather damage, please understand that it is out of our control, usually, our customers need to pay for the replacement parts, but please rest assured that we can apply the best discount for the customer.

In this situation, could you please send us some pics of the damaged item? Then we can check the situation and apply for the best solution for you.

Or, if you have any other suggestions, please let us know.

Looking forward to your reply.

Best regards,

Lynn

_____________

As a domestic missionary, truth is paramount. It is always about finding the truth. Like so many of the spiritual leaders over the centuries into modern times, I maintain the position I would rather be taken advantage of than to inadvertently take advantage over someone else. The top to the first tan tent we purchased is a perfect example of the difficulty sometimes in determining the truth. Much to my surprise, I was able to salvage a fair amount of that first tent which got blown into the trees by the storm with its exceptionally high winds. The top was one of the items salvaged. When we found a need to utilize the top, it leaked when it rained. It did not leak before the storm, so there was no question it did not involve the warranty. Whatever happened to it during the storm was now causing it to leak. We simply purchased a 10ml tarp big enough to cover the roof and tied it down over the roof designed to fit the structure. However, before the storm, that roof was an item that we were inquiring about whether the torn seam (in photos above) was covered by the warranty. If it was, then the subsequent damage by the storm is irrelevant. 

I have been a domestic missionary for 30 years now, but for the 20 years prior to that I operated my own State Farm Insurance office. So, I learned early on 50 years ago the difference between an incidence of liability, and what was back then called "an act of God." 

It is quite reasonable that weather related damage would not be covered by the tent warranty. That is what insurance is for. However, if a defect in the product contributed to that damage, or if there were non-weather related damage to the same item, then the weather related damage becomes a moot point. The most recent emails I received give me the impression they really do wish to do what is right for their customer according to their warranty. But, the fact some items had both types of damage has confused the issue. 

Hopefully, laying the whole thing out like this will clarify the situation enough to bring the Advance Outdoor, Barley Grains LLC, and MaxLead combination, as well as Walmart.com, back into our good graces as a customer of all of them. Even if there were no warranty at all, and we had to fix those items mentioned here reflecting sloppy workmanship, or the absence of a quality control inspection process, I would still purchase this product because of its well thought out design, and ease with which the framework went together. But, that is not the case here, and we should not have to be fixing so many items on brand new tents.  Here is what I would like to see come from all of the work and time it took to put this together . . .  

We would like to have replacement parts sent to us for all of the items we received in a damaged, or unworkable condition, and any items which had non-weather related issues legitimately covered by the warranty within the one year period on all four tents. I am including the first tent ultimately damaged by the huge windstorm we had at the end of August in 2023. As stated earlier, we were able to salvage many of the parts to that tent, and receiving the items which should have been replaced under warranty before the storm will help us determine the feasibility of reconstructing that tent. If deemed too costly, those parts can be used as backups for the two newest tents once they have exceeded the one year warranty period. If there are any charges related to items covered by warranty, we would like an explanation why. Asking us to put in a quantity of 6, and to pay $60, does not tell us anything about what we are receiving, nor why there would be any shipping charge for items legitimately covered by a warranty. 

We have been aware from the start that weather damage is not covered by the warranty. But, after all this time and effort, if the other items described, or shown in the photos, are deemed to not be covered by the warranty, we would like an explanation of what prevented them from being covered, especially those that were received in damaged, or an unusable, condition. 

We would like a parts list which shows the price of each item we might need to purchase. We would like to purchase parts through Walmart.com, and not have to deal with PayPal, or any other entity where we would be required to share our financial information. If that is not possible, then we would like the option to order parts by mail, where we can include a written check to pay for them. 

As pertains to Walmart.com, it would be nice to have an obvious option online, or telephone number to report issues with vendors/sellers. I was signed in and looking at a product page on Amazon the other day, and that option appeared right on the same screen. There is nothing quite as frustrating as having to click from screen to screen on a website, only to discover that it was a waste of time because there was no option to solve your issue. Hence, the title of this page was born out of that frustration. You are the company I chose to do business with. If you are not willing to advocate on behalf of your customers with those who are selling through you, perhaps I need to rethink the trust I have placed in you. 

For those who might be reading this as a review of the product, here are the key points. The product is exceptionally designed, and the structure goes together well if you follow the instructions. We have used the tents for multiple purposes over long periods of time, so have put them to the test. If you use them in cold climates for extended periods, we do not recommend getting windows. Below freezing temperatures make them brittle, and susceptible to damage in strong winds. When using leg extensions, be sure the nut on the bolt is inside not rubbing on the fabric. Over time, it puts a hole through the sides if facing outward. If you are keeping the tent up for a while in potentially windy climates, you might want to invest in more heavy duty stakes and ropes. Those that come with the tent were no match for unusually strong winds. However, the structure is well designed, and using stronger stakes and heavier ropes purchased at Mennards, our tents have sustained winds with 40-50 mph wind gusts without issue. Keep in mind the smaller pegs designed to go into the ground through the holes in the steel foot pads are designed only to keep the poles in their position, and provide no anchoring strength. All four of the tents came with some sort of relatively small problems, as described above. So far, the warranty process has been mostly just frustrating. You might have to do a fair amount of fixing yourself. Only time will tell whether the warranty is worth whatever it is written on? 

God's peace,

The Rest of the Story

From: Friends of Joyce Park (fojp2022@gmail.com)
Date: Thursday, January 25, 3:07 PM
To: Barley Grains LLC (E183B23B9E0344A88A5995C45E0448D2@relay.walmart.com)
Cc: c-e183b23b9e0344a88a5995c45e0448d2@relay.walmart.com

Please see https://www.wsharing.com/WS-NLE-231227-FW.htm

_____________


From: Barley Grains LLC
Date: Friday, January 26, 4:36 AM
To: William Gibbons Jr (fojp2022@gmail.com)

Dear William,

Thanks for your reply and clear information.

We do apologize for all the inconvenience caused to you. We totally understand your questions and concerns, please give us some time to clarify them.

We checked your ordered 4 carports in our store.

order# 200010180509622 (Sep 23, 2022)--beige 016(model number) carport with windows
order# 200010494301251 (Nov7,2022)-- white 016(model number) carport with windows
order# 200011068074080 (Aug 29, 2023)-- 2 x  beige 015(model number) carport without windows

So you can see, the last 2 carports you ordered are different from the ones you ordered in 2022.

Judging from the pics you provided, for the new beige carport, we guess that you may need the parts below, correct?

1X top cover
1x zipper door
2x part#C--foot pad
1x sidewall

If yes, we can send you the replacement parts free of charge, because these accessories are not damaged by the weather. But we checked that the cover is not badly damaged, so we wonder if you can continue to use it. If it gets worse, you can contact us and replace it. Do you feel it is acceptable?

As for the old carports, we wonder if you still need the parts below. We re-attached the parts list of the carport with window to the email, you can check it.

2x white sidewalls without windows
2x beige sidewalls without windows
1x white door
1x beige door
1x beige roof cover
1x #2
1x #4
1x #G bolt and nut

Since we don't list the price of the parts on the list, you need to let us know the part number and quantity needed, then we will check the price for you. However, considering that both carports were damaged due to weather and we value your business, we have applied for you to pay only $60 for shipping and handling. Because if you buy these parts at the original price, it will be very expensive.

In this situation, you can pay the $60 through the Walmart link below:

https://www.walmart.com/ip/Barley-Grains-LLC-Parts-fee/661660967

Kindly add 6 quantities -- $10x6=$60, and as this listing is for special payment only and you don't see any details on it, we actually need to create a new order for you manually, so, please inform us of your order# after you have placed it.

Also, please let us know your shipping address and we will arrange the shipment for you asap.

Or, if you have other suggestions, feel free to let us know.

Looking forward to your reply.

Best regards,

Lynn

_____________


From: Friends of Joyce Park (fojp2022@gmail.com)
Date: Tuesday, January 30, 12:19 PM
To: Barley Grains LLC

Dear Lynn,

Yes, regarding the crushed grommet on the roof of the new tents, but only on the condition there will be no shipping charges if we decide it needs to be replaced in the future, because it is pulling through the fabric. 

I have placed the Walmart order regarding the replacement parts on the older tents on the presumption it is covering shipping and handling for the entire list of items in your email. Here is the order number copied and pasted from their website. The 419 South Bridge Street, Grand Ledge, Michigan 48837, as shown on the order, is fine as the shipping address. 

Order# 2000116-29528687

Is the only difference between the two models that one has windows, and the other does not? Or, is there a quality difference? I may end up making one more white tent purchase down the road so they will match in color if used in tandem. 

Once all of the replacement parts arrive, I will add a note, along with these conversations, to my website page showing you indeed followed through in a fair fashion, considering all the confusion. 

God's peace,

william  

_____________


From: Barley Grains LLC
Date: Wednesday, January 31, 5:03 AM
To: William Gibbons Jr (fojp2022@gmail.com)

Dear William

Thanks a lot for the reply and information.

For the new carport with a grommet issue, you may feel free to contact us back and we will cover the shipping cost for you.

For old carports and new carports ordered this time, the quality and frame are the same. The only different is whether there is any window on the sidewalls.

For all the replacement parts, we have arranged the below parts to our warehouse and there is one beige window sidewall short.

1x beige top cover
2x beige zipper door
2x beige sidewalls without windows
2x part#C--foot pad
1x #G bolt and nut
1x #2
1x #4
2x white sidewalls without windows
1x white door

It will get back to our warehouse in about one week. Once it is available, we will arrange it for you again.

Kindly wait for some time and the tracking# will be available shortly

Have a great day

Lynn

_____________


From: Barley Grains LLC
Date: Thursday, February 1, 7:00 AM
To: William Gibbons Jr (fojp2022@gmail.com)

Dear Customer,

Good Day and this is Customer Support Team and we have arranged our warehouse to ship the items via fedex and the tracking# is 270466123114

You can track the shipment at: www.fedex.com/fedextrack/?trknbr=270466123114

If there's anything else that we can help you with, please feel free to contact us. We will always be here for you and will spare no efforts to help you.

Best regards,
Customer Support Team

_____________


From: Barley Grains LLC
Date: Friday, February 2, 7:32 AM
To: William Gibbons Jr (fojp2022@gmail.com)

Dear Customer,

Good Day and this is Customer Support Team and we have arranged our warehouse to ship the items via fedex and the tracking# is 270466787660

You can track the shipment at: www.fedex.com/fedextrack/?trknbr=270466787660

If there's anything else that we can help you with, please feel free to contact us. We will always be here for you and will spare no efforts to help you.

Best regards,
Customer Support Team

_____________


On February 2, I received a text on my flip phone from Walmart.com stating that the parts had been shipped. A second text stated that on February 3 the order had been delivered. We did receive the first box on Saturday, February 3rd. That box included:

1X beige top cover
1x beige zipper door
more than the "2x part#C--foot pad" ordered (including lots of other connector parts)
1x beige sidewall
more than "1x #G bolt and nut" (a full bag of items the bolts originally came in)

The excess parts lead me to believe their inventory must be pre-packaged, making it easier to send a whole unit rather than breaking open the container for something like a single bolt and nut. This works out fine for us as it gives us more spare parts, and is quite generous of them. 

A second box arrive on Monday, February 5th. It included: 

a single white sidewall
1x white zipper door
1x #2 pole
1x #4 pole

_____________
 

From: Barley Grains LLC
Date: Monday, February 5, 9:07 PM
To: William Gibbons Jr (fojp2022@gmail.com)

Dear William

Good evening and we tracked that the packages have been delivered to your address, kindly check whether all is well now.

And we check that the beige sidewall will be shipped out within 24 hours, kindly wait for a while. And we will keep you posted.

If there's anything else that needs our help, please feel free to let us know, we will always be here for you.

Hope this helps and we are looking forward to your confirmation.

Best regards,

Lynn

_____________


From: Barley Grains LLC
Date: Tuesday, February 6, 7:31 AM
To: William Gibbons Jr (fojp2022@gmail.com)

Dear Customer,

Good Day and this is Customer Support Team and we have arranged our warehouse to ship the items via fedex and the tracking# is 270649058895

You can track the shipment at:www.fedex.com/fedextrack/?trknbr=270649058895

If there's anything else that we can help you with, please feel free to contact us. We will always be here for you and will spare no efforts to help you.

Best regards,
Customer Support Team

_____________


From: Barley Grains LLC
Date: Tuesday, February 6, 7:35 AM
To: William Gibbons Jr (fojp2022@gmail.com)

Dear Customer,

Good day and we noticed that the package has been delivered to your address now, kindly check whether all is well now.

If there's anything that needs our help, you can reply to this email, we will always be here for you and will spare no efforts to help you.

BTW, if it's convenient for you, could you please do us a favor to share your honest experience on our listing? If you could also mention my name, it would be greatly appreciated. Your comments will not only reflect how we served you, but they will also assist other customers in enhancing their shopping experience. 

Many thanks in advance.

Best regards,
Customer Support Team

_____________


From: Barley Grains LLC (s-E183B23B9E0344A88A5995C45E0448D2@relay.walmart.com)
Date: Tuesday, February 8, 4:06 AM
To: William Gibbons Jr (fojp2022@gmail.com)

Dear customer,

Good day and we tracked that the package has been delivered to your address, kindly check whether all is well now.

If there's anything else that needs our help, please feel free to let us know, we will always be here for you.

If it's convenient for you, could you please do us a favor to share your honest experience on the link below?

https://www.walmart.com/ip/ADVANCE-OUTDOOR-Upgraded-10-x20-Heavy-Duty-Steel-Carport-Adjustable-Height-9-5-11-ft-Car-Canopy-Garage-Party-Tent-Storage-Shed-Boat-Shelter-Portable/925159637

If you could also mention my name Lynn, it would be greatly appreciated.

Your comments will not only reflect how we served you, but they will also assist other customers in enhancing their shopping experience. Many thanks in advance.

Best regards,

Lynn

_____________


From: William Gibbons Jr (fojp2022@gmail.com)
Date: Tuesday, February 8, 4:06 AM
To: Barley Grains LLC (s-E183B23B9E0344A88A5995C45E0448D2@relay.walmart.com)

Hi Lynn,

I had already submitted the below review before seeing your email. I tried to resubmit it using your link, and mentioning your name, but the Walmart.com site did not allow it.

“Even if there were no warranty at all, and we had to fix those items mentioned here reflecting sloppy workmanship, or the absence of a quality control inspection process, I would still purchase this product because of its well thought out design, and ease with which the framework went together. But, that is not the case here, and we should not have to be fixing so many items on brand new tents. Here is what I would like to see come from all of the work and time it took to put this together . . . “

We have purchased four of these tents. The above excerpt is from my website where I include caveats, and other helpful information as a part of the whole story. You can read it, and see the photos, by going to . . .

https://www.wsharing.com/WS-NLE-231227-FW.htm

I have loaded all the information onto my website up to, and including, the February 6th email from your CST. I checked the last FedEx tracking number your CST sent, and it is scheduled for delivery tomorrow. I will endeavor to get the remaining details onto my site next week, when I go back online to upload my picture of the week for February 15, 2024. Thank you for all your help. Lynn, I have the sense that you personally are genuinely interested in helping your customers with what feels like very complicated procedures. It is appreciated.

God's peace,

william

_____________

That third box arrive on Friday, February 9th. It included: 

1x beige zipper door
1x beige sidewall

Since Lynn's January 31st email indicated "For the new carport with a grommet issue, you may feel free to contact us back and we will cover the shipping cost for you," I am presuming we are waiting to see if the crushed grommet on the new roof pulls loose from the fabric before replacing it. That would mean the beige top cover received in the first box actually related to the warranty claim on the older tents. That being the case, by my count, the only thing we did not receive besides the one we are waiting to see what happens, was one of the 2x white sidewalls without windows shown on her list in her January 31st email. Since we were dealing with so many items over the course of our communications, I cannot remember if the issue on the second white sidewall was a crushed grommet, a grommet right on the edge of the fabric ready to pull through, a loop lock that just fell off, or a hole worn through the fabric by a leg screw. Perhaps they decided it also "is not badly damaged." Once we get into nicer weather here, we can sort through everything and see where we stand. If we find we will need a second solid white wall, we can always request a price quote to purchase one. After all is said and done, they have been pretty fair with us. 
 

_____________

 

Newsletters, Letters & Emails Index